Principal's message

With determination and valiance, I took over as school principal in September, 2017. Despite the change in position from teacher to principal, I am still as passionate for education as when I began twenty years ago. I truly believe that education is a calling from God. In the time I have been involved in education, I have grown to firmly believe that with dedicated nurturing every student can be outstanding, unleashing their potential and talent for society.

 

After taking office, I have contemplated on the kind of talents we should nurture in response to today’s rapidly changing society. I think, ‘T-shaped talent’, combining both depth and breadth, may be the path ahead. To deconstruct the letter “T” intellectually, it would symbolise the depth (vertical stroke) and breadth of knowledge (horizontal stroke) - the connection of which brings forth problem-solving skills.

 

In a nutshell, we have to instil both a thirst for knowledge and an interpersonal adroitness in our students.

 

For learning, teachers must teach with skill and inspire young minds, imbuing students with knowledge to seek a higher order of thinking and professionalism in living out the depth of their knowledge. For breadth, the school provides and arranges for students to participate in co-curricular activities in different areas. Students learn from their peers in the process, expanding horizons and minds.

 

To utilise the greatest potential from the combination of breadth and depth in knowledge, we depend on our teachers to become our students’ companions - leading them to understand themselves, explore life, chase their dreams and goals, face dilemmas courageously, and solve problems with the knowledge they have learnt. This culminates in them emerging as masterminds of their own lives.

 

However, outstanding intellect is not as important as upright values. If one is not compassionate, responsible, courteous, respectful and caring, all the efforts above will be undermined. We promote positive education and mentorship schemes to encourage service learning, in order to provide a fertile ground for the nurturing of values and a Christian environment for students to grow and live in faith.

 

 

We believe that excellence can be cultivated. Our Lord and parents have entrusted the golden age of their children’s learning to us - then we have to shoulder the responsibility of an educator. May this be the shared reminder among teachers and students altogether.

 

Principal Mr. Tang Man Wai

Top

校長的話

懷著堅強卓絕、奮鬥不懈的意志,自2017年9月開始我接任成為禮中的校長。由老師變成校長轉眼一年,崗位不同了,但我仍然很熱愛教育,在過去二十年的教學生涯讓我深信經過悉心的栽培和教育,每個學生都能成才,為社會發光發熱。

擔任校長後,我時刻在想,學校需要培育怎樣的人才以回應當今瞬息萬變的社會要求?目下所見,結合知識深度與寬度的「T形人才」,或會是出路。以知識結構特點來解構字母「T」,就是知識的深度(豎)和知識的寬度(橫);深與寬的連結,是為解難能力。

簡而言之,我們要教曉學生求學和做人。

求學毋須多說,老師循循善誘、啟迪心智,傳授學術範疇的知識,令學生有追求更高階更專業的層次,這是知識的深度;至於寬度,學校提供及安排學生參與不同領域的聯課活動,學生從中與他校同輩互相交流學習,開拓更寬廣的視野和胸襟。

要知識的深度和寬度連結後相輔相成地發揮最大效用,就得靠一眾老師成為學生的同行者,引導他們了解自己、探索生命、追尋理想和目標,面對抉擇和難題時仍然無所畏懼,懂得善用所學解決問題,成為自己人生的設計者。

然而,擁有過人才學也不及良好品德重要。人若沒有同理心、責任感,對人沒有應有的禮貌、尊重和關愛,上述所做的都是枉然。我們在校園推動正向教育、師友計劃,鼓勵服務學習,就是為學生提供培育品德的土壤,並讓他們在基督教環境和教育下成長,活出信仰。

我們相信優秀是可以培養出來的。父母把孩子的學習黃金期交託給我們,我們就得肩負起教育工作者的責任。願與我全體師生共勉之。

 

校長  鄧文偉

Top